| Oct 10, 2018

10 October, LONDON – 2018, Last night, Arsene Wenger received the Lifetime Achievement Award at the launch of the brand new, global Leaders Sports Awards. Wenger was joined on stage by David Dein, Gerard Houllier as well as two members of Arsenal’s infamous ‘Invincibles’ squad, Gilberto Silva and Robert Pires.

The award, previously received by Executive Vice President of Baseball Operations, Oakland Athletics, Billy Beane; Carlo Ancelotti, former Bayern Munich Head Coach and Herbert Hainer, former Adidas CEO, is presented annually to an individual who has led from the front and made an unparalleled impact on the sports industry across their career.

Wenger was recognised for his impactful career as one of the Premier League’s most influential football managers. Under Arsène, Arsenal won 17 trophies – three Premier League titles, including the famous season of the ‘invincibles’ in 2003/4 when the club was unbeaten, as well as seven FA Cups and seven Community Shields.

The Lifetime Achievement Award was presented at the event which welcomed over 600 sport business industry leaders to the Natural History Museum in London. After a 9-month nomination process, the glamorous evening celebrated individuals and companies who are shaping the future of sport which culminated in the Leaders Under 40 Class of 2018 – the talented individuals under the age of 40 who are and making waves within their fields. The Leaders Under 40, in partnership with Aspire Academy has been running for 4 years.

The evening also saw the main 5 categories On Screen Experience, Content Creation, Sponsorship, Live Experience and Innovation announce the winners of the shortlist. Judged by over 100 industry experts, the winners of each category were:

  • On Screen Experience – Tennis TV by ATP Media

  • Content Creation – IttyBittyBallers by Toronto Raptors and GoDaddy Canada

  • Sponsorship – Beat The Scrum by Widnes Vikings, with the NHS Mid-Mersey A&E Delivery Board & Renova Developments

  • Live Experience – The Tunnel Club by Manchester City FC

  • Innovation – Next Gen ATP Finals by ATP

In partnership with facebook, Chicago Fire Foundation were identified and rewarded for their community programme that integrates football with social and emotional learning to develop youth performance in a safe environment.

  • Lifetime Achievement Award

Arsène Wenger

  • Community Award

Chicago Fire Foundation

  • Leaders Under 40 Class of 2018

Adam Davis, Chief Revenue Officer, Harris Blitzer Sport & Entertainment

Adam Harris, Director of Custom Solutions, Twitch

Agustin Danza, Chief Executive Officer, Brazilian Rugby Union

Al Guido, President, San Francisco 49ers and Chief Executive Officer, Elevate Sports Ventures

Asma Al Thani, Director of Marketing and Communications, Qatar Olympic Committee

Chris Park, Executive Vice President, Product & Marketing, MLB

Cynthia Mumbo, Founder and CEO, Sports Connect Africa

Danny Menken, Group Managing Director, Eleven Sport

Dave Pietrycha, Chief Financial Officer, NBC Sports Group

Dewayne Hankins, Chief Marketing Officer, Portland Trail Blazers

Dustin Godsey, Chief Marketing Officer, Milwaukee Bucks

Evan Wasch, Senior Vice President, Basketball Strategy and Analytics, NBA

Jo Tongue, Chief Executive Officer, Tongue Tied Media

Jon Stainer, Managing Director, Nielsen Sports

Kelvin Smith, Senior Associate Commissioner and General Counsel, Big 12 Conference

Dr Laila Mintas, Deputy President, Sportradar

Louise Johnson, Managing Director, Fuse

Malcolm Booth, Sales & Marketing Director, The R&A

Mark Gorski, Chief Executive Officer, Sports Data Labs

Matthew Jafarian, Vice President of Digital Strategy and Innovation, Miami HEAT/AmericanAirlines Arena

Matthew Porter, Chief Executive Officer, Professional Darts Corporation

Megha Parekh, Senior Vice President and Chief Legal Officer, Jacksonville Jaguars and Bold Events

Nate Nanzer, Commissioner, Overwatch League

Nick Bourne, Chief Commercial Officer, COPA90

Nina King, Deputy Director of Athletics, Administration and Legal Affairs/Chief of Staff, Duke University

Rory Brown, President, Bleacher Report

Stephen Farrow, Director of International Events and Professional Game; Tournament Director of The Fever-Tree Championships at The Queen’s Club, LTA

Toby Craig, Director of Corporate & Commercial Communications, City Football Group

Vanessa Shay, Vice President, AEG Global Partnerships, AEG Global Partnerships

Zarah Al-Kudcy, Commercial Partnerships, Formula 1

Sign up to our newsletters

To ensure you’re keeping up to date with the latest intelligence, sign up (for free) to receive newsletters. Get exclusive insight from top organisations worldwide on leadership & culture, human performance, coaching & development and data & innovation.


Become a member

Join our exclusive community of leading global performance organisations to target all aspects of high performance and challenge thinking with access to game-changing knowledge, connections and perspectives that can’t be found anywhere else.

Become a member